# **Conservation Awards Committee**

**Committee Members:** B. J. Bergstrom, C. W. Edwards, E. J. Finck (Chair), J. Hallett, D. W. Kaufman, J. L. Koprowski, C. A. Long, B. Riddle, S. R. Sheffield, A. T. Smith, C. W. Thompson, T. E. Tomasi, and J. Whorley.

## Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

#### **Information Items:**

- (1) The ASM Conservation Awards Committee received three nominations for the Aldo Leopold Award in 2007. The Committee forwarded the name of a nominee to the President for vote by the Board of Directors. Results of their deliberation will be made public at the Annual Banquet.
- (2) The ASM Conservation Awards Committee received no nominations in 2007 for the William T. Hornaday Award.

## **Action Items:**

- (1) Criteria for the nomination process are being reviewed and recommendations for clarification will be presented to the Board.
- (2) Budget Items: \$850–\$100 for Leopold Award plaque and \$750 to bring potential Hornaday Awardee to the Annual Meeting next year and for plaque.

# Respectfully submitted,

Elmer J. Finck, Chair (efinck@fhsu.edu)